USA Semiquincentennial | East Hampton Town, NY


The story of Pudding Hill, a Revolutionary War tale, took place at what today is 4 Ocean Avenue in East Hampton where Woods Lane, Main Street and Ocean Avenue converge. Pudding Hill Lane, between Ocean Avenue and Georgica Road, is a bit south of there. 

There are several versions of the tale, but the most complete was written by an East Hampton High School student, Janet Nida, in 1931. It was published by The Star a year later on Nov. 4, 1932.

Jeremiah Miller and his wife, Mary Sanford Miller, lived in a cottage on the site at the time, 1776. One summer day, Redcoats were passing the hill when an aroma emanating from the Miller kitchen caught their attention. The British soldiers hurried up the hill, in search of the pudding they smelled, and startled Mrs. Miller. 

Mrs. Miller quickly seized the boiling pot, ran to the door and threw it down the hill, turning the Redcoats away. When the brave housewife’s daring deed was heralded about the town, her home became quickly known as Pudding Hill, and since that day has retained its unique name.

(Source: What’s In A Name? Pudding Hill | The East Hampton Star



Source link

Comments

  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment